From my bedroom window.

I have just downloaded a compass app on my phone. I wanted to inform you about the direction I gaze out when lying in my bed and looking out my bedroom window. This is the view that invariably greets me when I leave my dreams and crack open my eyelids. This is sometimes the view that predicts whether I rise to start the day or roll over to continue to slumber. By all accounts, it is not a spectacular view, but it is filled with plenty of blue sky and one stand alone tall tree that birds seem to love fighting for the right to be at its zenith. Spectacular bedroom views are reserved for those holiday mornings when you have spent hours trawling the internet and paid a fortune for a glimpse of the Eiffel Tower or the beach at your breezy door. So this is my everyday, living the dream but reality bites, all I could afford at the time, mortgaged, view.

The compass tells me that as my head lies, I face east as I awake. Well to be more accurate, around the 100 degree mark. Just a smidge south of east but still towards the rising sun. As I also reside 27 degrees latitudinally south of the equator (this compass just keeps on giving), I am just a few degrees off the sun blasting on my tender waking eyeballs in the summer. All good news to start an early summer day with the birds at 4.30am but now as winter draws to an end, the light doesn’t stream in so bright and perky as yet.

After living in the same location for the past twenty five years, and due to the lack of the interior designer gene, I have seen this scene for all these years. Not much has changed in this time. The tree has gotten taller and my neighbours roof acquired the plumbing for heating the pool with a river of black hose ribboned across its length. However the sky is still wide and vivid, and the stars are still visible to wish upon on my dark nights. My compass tells me I am home.

image

Leave a comment