Niggles.

Things have a funny way of happening in threes don’t they?

Thrice today I felt the need to air my chest, so to speak. A few things were bothering me and I needed to release the steam valve before a minor explosion occurred. I don’t want to be the one that dwells on the negative but niggles have a way at gnawing on your psyche.  Something has to be done otherwise something has to give.

I eagerly phoned my friend yesterday to find out the results of her biopsied breast lumps. This time last year the news wasn’t good, and so followed a year of treatment that no one wanted to see her go through again. All great news but then the realization that she had known the result for the last five days. A little disappointment crept in under the joy of knowing that all was okay. Not to put a dampener on her day, I said nought yesterday and brewed on it overnight. Luckily my daughter acted as the sounding board this morning as the saddness has now dissipated.

Another time was when I phoned my son this morning and found out that he had visited a friend in my street, and didn’t drop in to see me on the weekend. I have been so looking forward to sharing his joy of having his partner back after her five week absence. I bravely expressed my disappointment, after he had not wanted to have an early morning coffee with me today, after yoga was all but washed out due to rain. Again, it was my feelings rubbed. He did nothing wrong, today or the other day. As he said, he was busy this morning hence couldn’t make coffee, and he knew that I would be sleeping at the time he was around on the weekend.  I quickly accepted this but still…..niggle niggle.

Finally as I was driving home from the washed out yoga; the disappointment about not meeting my son for a chat; and today’s food shopping, I crossed a bridge that always plagues me when I cycle over it. I have had a few near misses with impatient cars driving in the bike lanes, and wouldn’t you know it, I drove beside a car that did this very illegal and dangerous drive this morning (luckily no bikes were around due to the rain). I decided to alert the authorities instead of accept it and let the niggle turn into an accident.

Sometimes it may be hard to speak your mind, and I fully respect and acknowledge that some conversations should have filters but when emotional build up does occur,  then ease your pain and speak up.
And good luck.

image

Today's storm on the horizon.

Leave a comment