Sensibility

My Mum once described me as determined.  This wasn’t when I was a tantruming toddler or a precocious prepubescent teenager, no, this was a just a few weeks ago. You see I have been known to make wonderful elaborate plans and follow through with my ideas of grandeur no matter if the going gets tough, I will get going.

I think I recieved mucho cudos after walking the Camino de Santiago last year. Through thick and thin, I was going to carry on and complete my thirty three day,  eight hundred kilometre journey. I had trained for a year prior, so the planning paid off. I was prepared, patient and healthy,  come what may. So when she called me determined I actually proudly agreed with her.

Today as I was cycling home from yoga, a distance of 12km on lovely flat bicycle pathways, I was thinking of this determination in planning the last 500m of a very steep graded climb into my street. You see I have never had to walk my bike up this hill. I would even argue that pride has driven me to knuckled down into my lowest gear and slowly inch up the hill.

However there comes a time when sensibility should override determination. I am still nursing a slightly swollen and brittle left knee joint that has no difficulty on the flat terrain but can place some stress on the knees going uphill.  Sensibly I got off my bike and walked the hill, not as a walk of defeat but as a mark of common sense.

May I never be to old to listen and act within reason.

image

Leave a comment